A book release, other distractions and general laziness are a few of the excuses I offer for neglecting my blog and my crafts. The time for excuses has past and I’m rebooting Made By: Patty.

One of my recent projects wasn’t a craft, but it did require some creativity and knowledge of Photoshop. In August, I designed of an insert for my husband’s photo book All Access: The Photographs of Kansas State Athletics. The intent of the postcard-sized insert is to direct book buyers to the All Access website where they can purchase prints from the book.

To create the insert I used the basic design elements used in Scott’s book: a good photo, black background, and white font. The photo, taken by Scott, was staged on a narrow wall at our house. Actually, the wall was so narrow that I had to clone 2.5 inches of the wall to create the 4×6 insert. The cloned area served as the background for the main text.

After the digital file was created, we submitted it to PrintsMadeEasy.com and within a week we had 1,500 inserts in our hands to place in the books.

Photo of All Access Book Insert

Digital image of All Access book insert.

Programs/Electronic Files:

  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Dirty Ego Font
  • Helvetica Font
  • Bank Gothic Medium BT Font
